FeatureNintendoPCPlayStationXboxStar Wars

The 5 biggest changes in Lego Star Wars from 2005 to The Skywalker Saga

Lego has been releasing video games based on some of our favorite pop culture movies for years now. Among these are the series of Lego Star Wars games, which go over the main events of the nine movies with a touch of humor. The first game in the series dates back to 2005 and is simply called Lego Star Wars: The Video Game. Since then, various sequels have come out to follow the new trilogy. The latest game in the series is Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga. In this article, we will go over some of the biggest differences between the original Lego Star Wars game from 2005 and Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

Lego Star Wars 2005 and The Skywalker Saga have different stories

The first difference between Lego Star Wars from 2005 and the 2022’s Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is the plot of these games. 2005’s Lego Star Wars: The Video Game is an adaptation of the prequel trilogy. For the padawans among us, the prequel trilogy includes Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace, Episode 2: Attack of the Clones, and Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith.

If you manage to complete all the game’s levels with a full stud meter, Lego Star Wars: The Video Game will unlock a bonus level based on the opening of episode 4: A New Hope. It retells the events from the first Star Wars movie ever released but from the viewpoint of Darth Vader. In this scene, he is aboard the Tantive IV, the first Star Wars vessel the public saw on the big screen when Star Wars premiered in 1977.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, released in 2022, follows the story of all nine movies, not just the first trilogy. Unlike the previous games in the series, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga also brings more freedom to the player, as it features a semi-open-world structure letting players explore the hub worlds as they wish.

Over six times more playable characters

The original Lego Star Wars game features 59 playable characters. 56 of them are available in the GameCube, PS2, Xbox, and PC versions. The Game Boy Advance version features 15 characters, including three exclusive to this version: Tusken Raider, Gungan, and STAP.

In 2022, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga features way more characters than its predecessor. The game lets you choose between 380 playable characters, from iconic characters across the Star Wars saga to less known characters such as Klaud, Grummgar, or Gasgano. There are even nine different versions of Anakin Skywalker and you can play characters like Jabba the Hutt or his grandmother, Mama the Hutt.

Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga characters
Image by Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment.

Voice over and Mumble Mode

In the initial game, no one talked, even in the cutscenes. Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga finally gives a voice to the characters of the game. And if you don’t really like hearing people talk, you can turn on the Mumble Mode to make the characters babble like in the previous Lego games.

Better gameplay both on land and in space

Combat has been revamped in Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga. When it was mainly button smashing in the 2005 game, lightsaber wielders can now use a variety of combo with light and heavy attacks, as well as Force moves. Characters using a blaster now have an over-the-shoulder camera, making it way easier to aim at enemies.

The spaceship gameplay is also widely different between the 2005 and 2022 games. Of course, the leap in technology helped with that. The spaceship gameplay in Lego Star Wars: The Video Game is pretty linear. It follows a predefined route, just like a racing game. These levels are not open, but the spaceships rather fly on a flat plane.

In Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, the 3D is at the core of spaceship gameplay and combat. You can fly virtually anywhere you want and in all directions. It feels more realistic, but can also be confusing for the younger players as the game doesn’t force you to go where you should go.

Dexter’s Diner

Dexter’s Diner was also revamped between the two games. In Lego Star Wars: The Video Game, this place is the main hub where players can select a level to play and unlock new characters. This diner has a silver and red color scheme, orange light panels running along the walls, and doors with a 1, 2, and 3 marked above to guide you through the Episode you want to play. You can also hang outside Dex’s Diner to check out the vehicles you built and see some Jedi vs Sith battles.

In Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, Dexter’s Diner is back and improved. It doesn’t serve the purpose of a hub anymore, so there are no doors leading to the Episodes. The silver and red color scheme is replaced by yellow tiles on the walls. Dexter’s Diner’s interior is brighter than it used to be, and it’s a good thing since it’s now night outside instead of the broad daylight depicted in the 2005 video game. The diner also has a new back kitchen, removes one of the two doors leading to the outside, and finally allows NPCs to sit down in the booths.

If you would like to know more about all the changes between Lego Star Wars from 2005 and Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, check out the latest video from The Leaderboard. And stay tuned to SQUAD for more gaming news!

Show More

Ophélie Castelot

I was born with a gamepad and played my first MMORPG at 8. I'm scared to death by Resident Evil's dogs. FPS enthusiast, I like to pewpew people. I love both video games and writing, so naturally, I'm a gaming writer. Want to pitch an idea or debate the latest game you played? Let's talk!
Back to top button