GuideGhost of Tsushima

Ghost of Tsushima: Legends beginners guide

Ghost of Tsushima: Legends is just about everything you could want from a samurai MMORPG. The game by itself is a masterpiece in terms of storytelling, with fluid combat that made players feel like powerful samurai warriors. The latest update for Ghost of Tsushima, Legends, brings new depths to the samurai hack-and-slash RPG. This is a beginners’ guide to Ghost of Tsushima: Legends giving you all the information you need to start slaying demons with friends.

Ghost of Tsushima: Legends overview

Ghost of Tsushima: Legends has two parts, each with its benefits, bonuses, and co-op opportunities. The co-op Story mode is a series of two-player missions designed to test your skill, ranging from assassinations to clearing mobs of Oni bosses. Some of the enemy types and puzzles in the Story mode could be setting up for raid puzzles similar the one found in games like Destiny 2.

The second more in-depth portion of Ghost of Tsushima: Legends is the Survival mode. Currently, there are four maps, each with three objectives that must be defended as waves of Mongols try to retake them. There are three levels of difficulty – bronze, silver, and gold – with nightmare mode being the ultimate challenge.

It is possible to play the survival and story modes alone, but Legends has a built-in matchmaking system that will take a heavy load off of your shoulders in the long run. It is highly unlikely all of your teammates will pursue the bonus mission, but at least the Mongols aren’t focusing on you alone the whole time.

Ghost of Tsushima – Version 1.1 Update Trailer | PS4


There are four classes in Ghost of Tsushima: Legends – Samurai, Hunter, Ronin, and Assassin. The Samurai is the tank class of Legends, the steadfast force used for holding down objectives whenever the Mongol hordes swarm.

Hunters are the bow and arrow sniper class. They have a high damage potential, but can get overwhelmed easily.

Ronin is the support class, used to heal and resurrect team members in the heat of battle.

Assassins thrive at navigating the battlefield, removing Mongol threats one by one, and dealing massive damage to bosses through critical strikes. At the start of Legends, just after the tutorial, the player chooses one class to start with and will earn another every seven ranks until they are all unlocked. 

Each class in Ghost of Tsushima: Legends has a special ability and an ultimate ability, both of which can be upgraded and modified through the Techniques tree. Experience points are earned by playing missions as a class, which will in turn unlock perks that are available for purchase.

Gear and weapons

Leveling up a class is only a small portion of what will make your ghost more powerful. The gear system in Legends is deeper than most expected, featuring a blend of stat modifiers, gear rarities, and special abilities. There are five types of gear that every ghost carries: a katana, a ranged item, a charm, and two ghost weapons. The item rarities, from worst to best, are common (white), uncommon (green), rare (blue), epic (purple), and legendary (gold).

In Ghost of Tsushima, there are four stances, each useful for a different enemy type. In the story mode, the player could switch between the stances freely, but in Legends, the katanas earned each have a stance tied to them. Some katanas have a special modifier that allows the user to switch between two stances, but there are way better modifiers to use instead.

Ghost of Tsushima Legends

Ranged weapons consist of bows that can shoot normal or flaming arrows, and blowguns that can shoot poison or weakening darts.

Charms provide a bonus in one of four areas: defense, ranged, stealth, or melee.

Finally, Kunai, a dirt throw, and sticky bombs can be equipped in ghost weapon slot one, and in slot two go the smoke bomb, healing gourd, or caltrops.


Essence is the currency to the farthest top right corner of the screen, and looks like a small flame. You obtain Essence by completing missions, survival waves, and for dismantling gear. Essence is used to unlock perks in the Technique tree, to change the properties of gear when reforging.

The middle currency that looks like an orb with wings is Honor. Honor is used to reforge gear attributes, and to re-roll daily challenges. When dismantling gear, a small amount of Honor is given as well, but not much.

The final currency is Shrines, and they are used to reforge gear’s modifiers, and can only be acquired through daily challenges.

It is easy to earn loot in Legends, but the hard part is obtaining gear with the perfect stats and the right modifier for your playstyle. This is where reforging comes in, and is something that we go over in our gear and loadouts guide.

Ghost of Tsushima: Legends is surprisingly complex for a free multiplayer update to a single-player game. At first, all of the loot, statistics, and perks can be overwhelming, but with this guide and a little experimentation, you should have no trouble diving into Legends.

Show More

Malik Shelp

I am a digital media specialist focusing on the entertainment industry and producing visual and written content. I began in the music industry covering music festivals and interviewing artists before transitioning to sports. I primarily cover Overwatch, Call of Duty, and occasionally Fortnite and CS:GO.
Back to top button